Daily Stuff 1-8-15 Rural Dionysia

Hi, folks!

Please take note! We’re in our Winter Vacation through 1/14! We’ll re-open on 1/15 at 11am!

weather Partly SunnyYesterday was clear and bright and so warm! During the afternoon it got up to 68F and even coming home past 11 it was warm enough to stand outside and gaze for a bit. Today it’s only 56 and cloudy with sunbreaks, but still bright. Good weather for driving.

motif plant flower bluebonnets2I spent yesterday morning doing paperwork, by noon I was nearly done, but geez…. …and then another spate of it and we still weren’t out of the house before 1pm! From that point on we just kept at it. I sewed and packed and ironed and organized. Tempus toted and cleaned and made sundials. Marius showed up and he helped count and sort. Rowan did some of the car loading in the evening and found one of my outfits that had gotten buried. Marius and I both “hit the wall” at around 10:30pm and he gave me a ride home where I did some more of the printing that was needed.

motif plant flower calceolariaEsbat happened, but it was brief.

The moon was high and bright as I got home. Sirius was twinkling away and Jupiter very bright. Even in the middle of the night the light through the skylight was bright enough to navigate.

motif plant flower cattleya-orchidToday we’re heading for Eugene for 12th Night. Marius is picking Hatch and Travis up at 9:30am. I still have one load of laundry to do and then pack my clothing. I think Tempus got his done last night. Tempus and I need to finish up at the shop, water the plants and then we’ll head out. The site is supposed to be decorated and set up today and then the event actually opens tomorrow.

I’ll be posting over the weekend, but I don’t know timing and how regular things will be.

10421160_413101482179720_6557499692767758318_n

plant pic fern Adiantum_pedatumMaidenhair Fern is cultivated for use in gardens, but out here on the coast you can’t walk past a stand of trees without seeing it. Our variety is Adiantum Pedatum, (northern maidenhair, five-fingered fern) most often , but others of the aidantums get mixed in, too. – Feminine, Venus, Water – This represents the physical presence of the Divine Feminine, much as the Sword Fern represents the Divine Masculine. To get more in touch with this part of your Higher Self and to gain grace and physical beauty (always remembering that true beauty is from within) soak a sprig of this plant in water (…better by moonlight, and it’s a great ritual for a Full Moon) and hang it in your bedroom. This is also helpful for the transition times between life stages, and can even help with becoming pregnant if there are physical difficulties with a woman’s cycles. More here:http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Adiantum_pedatum and on the family grouping here:http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Maidenhair_fern

0108 feast Dionysos_Louvre_Ma87_n2Lesser (Rural) Dionysia, festival of Dionysus, ancient Greece – This wasn’t a set date, either festivals were held in different areas on different dates. A festival with a lot of comedy and horseplay in honor of Dionysus, where a large wooden phallus was carried in a procession.More info here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dionysia and a description of the procession and revels here:  http://web.eecs.utk.edu/~mclennan/BA/JO-RD.html plus another link on the Dionysian Mysteries:  http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dionysian_Mysteries

motif Imbolc PentacleThe shop is closed for our Winter Vacation that runs through 1/14! Winter hours are 11am-5pm Thursday through Monday after we re-open. Need something off hours? Give us a call at 541-563-7154 or Facebook or email at ancientlight@peak.org If we’re supposed to be closed, but it looks like we’re there, try the door. If it’s open, the shop’s open! In case of bad weather, check here at the blog for updates, on our Facebook as Ancient Light, or call the shop.

Love & Light,
Anja

******

Waning Gibbous moonWaning Moon Magick – From the Full Moon to the New is a time for study, meditation, and magic designed to banish harmful energies and habits, for ridding oneself of addictions, illness or negativity. Remember: what goes up must come down. Phase ends at the Tide Change on 1/20 at 5:14pm. Waning Gibbous Moon – Best time for draining the energy behind illness, habits or addictions. Magicks of this sort, started now, should be ended before the phase change to the New Moon. , Associated God/dess: Hera/Hero, Cybele, Zeus the Conqueror, Mars/Martius, Anansi, Prometheus. Phase ends at the Quarter on 1/13 at 1:46am.

Astro mercuryAstro venusMercury and Venus are within 1° of each other, low in the southwest in evening twilight, from now through next Monday. Think photo opportunity! Mercury, Venus, and Mars are all on the far side of the Sun from us now. Venus is currently 13 light-minutes from Earth, Mercury is 9 light-minutes, and Mars is 17, compared to the Sun’s 8.
Astro uranusAstro neptuneUranus (magnitude 5.8, in Pisces) and Neptune (magnitude 7.9, in Aquarius) are in the southwest just after dark. Uranus is still high, but Neptune has sunk much lower.
comet lovejoy-pappa2_c4999de1192282a824c71bbd98ac67c1.nbcnews-ux-1520-900Look for Comet Lovejoy — if you look within an hour or two after dark (for most of the world’s mid-northern latitudes). The comet is in its brightest two weeks at 5th or 4th magnitude. But you’ll have to know exactly the correct point in the sky to examine! See our updated article with finder chart: How To See Comet Lovejoy Tonight.

Goddess Month of Hestia runs from 12/26 – 1/22
Celtic Tree Month of Beth/Birch, Dec 24 – Jan 20
Rune Runic Month 01 Eoh EihwazRunic half-month of Eihwaz/Eoh 12/28-1/11 Represents the dead, and the yew tree, sacred to Winter shamanism. Nigel Pennick, The Pagan Book of Days, Destiny Books Runic half-month of Perdhro/ Peorth, 1/13-1/27. – Feast of Brewing, Druidic, Source: The Phoenix and Arabeth 1992 Calendar

Sun in CapricornSun in Capricorn
Moon in LeoMoon in Leo enters Virgo at 2:58pm
Juno and Jupiter (4/8/15) Retrograde
Color: Crimson

******

©2014 M. Bartlett, Some parts separately copyright

******

tree celtic month birch bethCeltic Tree Month of Beth/Birch, Dec 24 – Jan 20, Beith – (BEH), birch – The silver birch (Betula pendula Roth) is the most common tree birch in much of Europe. It grows up to 30 m (100 feet) high, but is more often found in spreading clumps on sandy soils. It is one of the first trees to colonize an area after a mature forest is cut; this is probably a large part of its symbolic connection with new beginnings. It is cultivated in North America, often under the name of weeping birch. The three trees in my front yard form root sprouts that would take over the bed where they are planted if I didn’t cut them back. The common birch (B. pubescens Ehrh.) is almost as widespread as the silver birch, but grows primarily on acid or peaty soils. It can reach 20 m (65 feet) in height. Birches are members of the Birch family (Betulaceae). Curtis Clark
Plant Tree Birch bethBeth – Birch – Ogam letter correspondences –
Month: November
Color: White
Class: Peasant
Letter: B
Meaning: New Beginnings; Changes; Purification.
tree beech birch Celtic Tree MonthPhagos – Beech Ogam letter correspondences to study this month
Month: None
Color: Orange-brown
Class: Chieftain
Letter: PH, IO
Meaning: New experiences and information coming

******

Waves tide

*

Tides for Alsea Bay
Day        High      Tide  Height   Sunrise    Moon  Time      % Moon
~           /Low      Time    Feet    Sunset                                    Visible
Th   8     High   2:40 AM     7.2   7:52 AM     Set  9:32 AM      93
~     8      Low   8:18 AM     2.9   4:54 PM    Rise  8:48 PM
~     8     High   1:56 PM     7.6
~     8      Low   8:43 PM     0.2

******

Affirmation/Thought for the Day – I am a woman..I am strong…

******

Newsletter Journal PromptJournal Prompt – Memories – What happened the first time you went swimming?

******

Quotes

~  For every man there exists a bait which he cannot resist swallowing. – Friedrich Nietzsche
~  Every positive value has its price in negative terms… the genius of Einstein leads to Hiroshima. – Pablo Picasso (1881-1973) Spanish artist
~  Failure is a sign that you’re trying. -Kerr Cuhulain
~  The last time anybody made a list of the top hundred character attributes of New Yorkers, common sense snuck in at number 79. – Douglas Adams in The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy

THE GREEN RIBBONS

I sat up in my bed, sleepless
Something frightened me
There were no noises,
But something… someone…
Was there with me, in the dark.

Trembling, I lit my lamp
Rushed and pulled back curtains,
But nothing was moving
Not even nightly animal sounds;
Only a slight breeze flowing

Tho’ the windows were closed.
I looked in the mirror,
Braiding my hair with a ribbon
Dreaming of my future husband…
Who would it be?

I was lost in a dreamy reverie
Forgetting the breezes
And did not notice the window,
Or the man with pointed ears
That was climbing inside.

Then a handsome face
Appeared beside me in the mirror,
Too attractive for human,
With flashing eyes and wide smile.
I was too frightened to scream,

Standing there in my shift
With only half my hair braided,
And bright green ribbons in my hand.
“That green is the faery color,”
He said.  “And it has called me.”

The ribbons fell out of my hands
And I could not move for fear.
Gently, he pulled me to him
And kissed me upon my rosy lips.
I sighed, and my soul slipped out,

Out into his lips, a captive.
I no longer had my soul, and he,
He who had none before, had mine.
I went with him, in shift and bare feet
Following him to Faery Land.

I had a little crown of gold to wear
And new jeweled slippers for my feet;
I was as beautiful as the elven women
But was always calm and quiet.
One night at a royal banquet,

A loud noise boomed out, a knocking
And the voice of Jacov calling,
Who had always loved me.
My elven prince let him in the hall
And brought him before me.

“Go back home again,” I said.
“I have nothing for you, nothing…
For I no longer have a soul,
And my body belongs to another.
Go back and warn my friends

Not to wear green ribbons
And never kiss one of elven-kind,
Lest you leave your loved ones forever.
For what are youth and riches
If you cannot feel?  Leave me now.” – © September 21, 2008 Beth Clare Johnson (Mystic Amazon)

******

divider Imbolc BorderImbolc Magick – Prayers

Every day, every night
that I praise the goddess,
I know I shall be safe:
I shall not be chased,
I shall not be caught,
I shall not be harmed.
Fire, sun, and moon
cannot burn me. Not
lake nor stream nor sea
can drown me. Fairy
arrow cannot pierce me.
I am safe, safe, safe,
singing her praise. ~The Shield of Brigid, Irish Prayer

Brighid of the mantle encompass us,

Brighid of the mantle encompass us,
Lady of the Lambs protect us,
Keeper of the Hearth, kindle us,
Beneath your mantle, gather us
And restore us to memory.

Mothers of our mother,
Foremothers strong,

Guide our hands in yours
Remind us how
To kindle the hearth,

To keep it bright
To preserve the flame,
Your hands upon ours,
Our hands within yours,
To kindle the light,
Both day and night

The mantle of Brighid about us,
The memory of Brighid within us,
The protection of Brighid keeping us
From harm, from ignorance, from heartlessness,
This day and night,
From dawn till dark
From dark to dawn. (by Caitlin Matthews)

Prayer for Imbolc

On this Imbolc day, as I kindle the flame upon my hearth,
I pray that the flame of Brigid may burn in my soul,
and the souls of all I meet today.

I pray that no envy and malice,
no hatred or fear, may smother the flame.
I pray that indifference and apathy,
contempt and pride,
may not pour like cold water on the flame.

Instead, may the spark of Brigid light the love in my soul,
that it may burn brightly through this season.
And may I warm those that are lonely,
whose hearts are cold and lifeless,
so that all may know the comfort of Brigid’s love. – Morgana West

Source: The Wheel of the Year, Copyright © 2001 Morgana West

TAGS: compassion, Guidance, holidays, New Age, pagan, Peace

http://www.beliefnet.com/Faiths/Prayer/Prayer-of-the-Day.aspx?d=20090202&source=NEWSLETTER

******

motif Silliness SmilieSilliness – Funny coffee Sewing Machine

This entry was posted in Daily Stuff, Pagan, Wiccan and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

