Daily Stuff 8-13-15 Obon

Hi, folks!

Waves tide Minus Tide at 6:45 AM of -0.7 feet.

weather cloudIt’s already the forecast high of 67F and it feels sticky in the house. There’s a steady bit of breeze that’s just enough to wiggle the leaves and then a real one comes along, waves a branch and makes a sound and actually crawls in the window. Otherwise it’s very still. The clouds are starting to thin and we might get a bit of sun, but hopefully so honest-to-goodness rain showers overnight and into tomorrow.

motif plant flower rose pinkYesterday was newsletters right until the middle of the afternoon. At that point Tempus and I headed down to Yachats to get site info. Two of the people who said they’d be around weren’t. <sigh> I did get info from the other two, but I’ve got another person to call, still, and there’s a map that I was supposed to get handed. Tempus and I went back home and I got my notes onto electrons and then we headed for the shop for esbat.

motif plant flower AdonisWe had a good one, if a bit short, more of a business meeting, really, but got a few decisions made. We went across the street for supper, afterwards and I have left-overs for today’s lunch.

Tempus and I were really tired when we got home and went to bed, but I didn’t sleep well at all. Not long after Tempus went out on his paper route I was awakened by a scream from the main part of the house! …. I thought…. the only thing I can figure was that I was dreaming, but it shook me and I never got solidly back to sleep until he got home, which meant that I horribly oversleptm which is why this is coming out past noon.

motif plant flower yellow roseHe’s going to come get me in a bit and I’ll be at the shop for the rest of the day. We have a crystals guy who’s coming up from Ashland hoping to be a new supplier. We’ll see.

Ever wonder what the Sun Salutations are that I talk about?

Sun Salutations

150px-Gujo_Odori_Japan250px-Osurasma,_or_praying_a_soul_out_of_purgatory-J._M._W._SilverToday’s Feast isObon, the Japanese festival of the Ancestors. It is a time of family reunion. Graves of ancestors are cleaned and offerings given, family altars with ancestor tablets are set up, and there is a lot of dancing, which sounds like trance dance from the descriptions. All of this comes from a Buddhist custom, meant to alleviate suffering of those who have already passed from this world. Different areas of Japan have different dances and different times to celebrate, plus there are several ways of dating, one from the modern calendar, and one from the lunar, and then local ways. More here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Obon and on the one in Gion here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Guj%C5%8D,_Gifu#Guj.C5.8D_Odori

plant flower foxglove DigitalisToday’s plant is Foxglove, Digitalis purpurea. It is naturalized in the PNW, being native to Europe, not the Americas. Digitalis was one of the first heart medications and was extracted from the plant and then synthesized. The plant is poisonous, not just because of this (too much causes irregular heartbeat), but some other chemicals. Also known as Lady’s Glove, Witches’ Gloves, Fairy Fingers, or Dead Men’s Bells. – Feminine, Venus, Water – A Druid sacred herb associated with the “little people”. Lust, protection, decision, grow in a garden for protection of house and yard, reveals insincerity. Flower meaning – a wish, “I am not ambitious for myself but for you”.

wheel of the yearThe shop opens at 11am! Summer hours are 11am-7pm Thursday through Monday. Need something off hours? Give us a call at 541-563-7154 or Facebook or email at ancientlight@peak.org If we’re supposed to be closed, but it looks like we’re there, try the door. If it’s open, the shop’s open! In case of bad weather, check here at the blog for updates, on our Facebook as Ancient Light, or call the shop.

Love & Light,
Anja

******

Dark MoonWaning Moon Magick – From the Full Moon to the New is a time for study, meditation, and magic designed to banish harmful energies and habits, for ridding oneself of addictions, illness or negativity. Remember: what goes up must come down. Phase ends at the Tide Change on 8/14 at 7:53am. Dark of the Moon, End of the cycle – In the time leading up to the “New Moon” you may do banishings and other baneful magicks and healings that require blasting a disease away, as well as using the time for introspection and self-work. Do scrying, now. Good for reversing circumstances. God/dess Aspect: The One Beyond, the Watchers in the Outer Dark, psychopomps – Associated God/desses: Hecate, Kali, Arianhrod, Anja, Kore in the Underworld, Ereshkigal who was Inanna, Set/Seth, Hades, Osiris. Phase ends at the Tide Change on 8/14 at 7:53am. 

astro meteor asteroidPerseid meteor shower peaks – Thursday, Aug. 13, 2 a.m. – The Perseid meteor shower is always the most reliable in the year, and this year benefits from having the moon out of the sky for most of the night. Although Perseid meteors can be seen at any time of night, there are always more meteors after midnight because then the Earth is heading directly into the shower. Although they appear to radiate from a point in the constellation Perseus in the northeastern sky, they can be seen anywhere in the sky.
081315 Perseidsastro milky way stars 090113These moonless August nights are prime Milky Way time. After dark, the Milky Way is a mottled glowing band running from Sagittarius in the south up and left across Aquila and through the big Summer Triangle very high in the east, then on down through Cassiopeia to Perseus low in the north-northeast.
Thursday, Aug. 13, 2 a.m. The Perseid meteor shower is always the most reliable in the year, and this year benefits from having the moon out of the sky for most of the night. Credit: Starry Night Software
Astro uranusUranus (magnitude +5.8, in Pisces) and Neptune (magnitude +7.8, in Aquarius) are in the southern sky well before the beginning of dawn now. Finder charts for Uranus and Neptune.

Goddess Month of Hesperus runs from 8/9 – 9/5
Celtic Tree Month of Coll/Hazel, Aug 5 – Sep 1
Rune Runic Month 16 Ansuz Os As Runic half-month of Ansuz/ As /Os/, 8-13-8/29 – This time is sacred to the god/desses of Asgard and contains the time of the Ordeal of Odin and the festival of the Runes. This time is also referring to Yggdrasil, the Tree that give order to the Worlds. This is a time of stability and divine order visible in the world. 

Sun in LeoSun in Leo
Moon in LeoMoon in Leo
Venus (9/6/15), Ceres (9/14/15), Neptune (9/24/15), Pluto (9/25/15), Vesta (11/13/15) and Chiron (11/27/15) Retrograde
Color: Green

*****

©2015 M. Bartlett, Some parts separately copyright.

******

from Wikimedia commons

from Wikimedia commons

Celtic Tree Month of Coll/Hazel, Aug 5 – Sep 1, Coll (CULL), hazel – The hazel (Corylus avellana L) is the source of hazelnuts. It forms a shrub up to 6 m (20 feet) tall, inhabiting open woodlands and scrubs, hedgerows, and the edges of forests. The filbert nut in North American groceries is Corylus maxima, a related species. The European hazelnut is cultivated in North America, primarily as an ornamental. Hazelnuts are in the Birch family (Betulaceae).

Hazel celtic tree month CollColl – Hazel Ogam letter correspondences
Month: July
Color: Brown
Class: Chieftain
Letter: C, K
Meaning: Creative energies for work or projects.

******

Waves tide

*

Tides for Alsea Bay
Day        High      Tide  Height   Sunrise    Moon  Time      % Moon
~           /Low      Time    Feet    Sunset                                    Visible
Th  13      Low   6:45 AM    -0.7   6:17 AM    Rise  5:30 AM      3
~    13     High   1:09 PM     6.5   8:25 PM     Set  7:45 PM
~    13      Low   6:45 PM     1.9

******

Affirmation/Thought for the Day – Unless you can create the WHOLE universe in 5 days, then perhaps giving “advice” to God isn’t such a good idea!

******

Newsletter Journal PromptJournal Prompt – Personal Interests and Experiences – Explain what the word prejudice means to you. Then decide whether or not you think you’re prejudiced.

******

Quotes 

~  The function of leadership is to produce more leaders, not more followers. – Ralph Nader
~  It really doesn’t cost anything to be nice, and the rewards can be unimaginable. – Bear Bryant
~  Computers are useless. They can only give you answers. – Pablo Picasso (1881-1973) Spanish artist
~  The 3 signs of great men are- generosity in the design, humanity in the execution, moderation in success. – Otto von Bismarck

Don’t ever let others drag you down.
Laugh in the face of it and never frown.
Hold your head high and reach for the sky,
because you can do anything if you only try.
Life is for living.
Love every day.
Thank god for your health and happiness when you pray,
for your beautiful family and for being in love,
for the twinkling stars at night above,
for the sunset, in the morning as you rise
and for the feeling of being here and just being alive. – Irene Burns

******

Pentacle of ElementsMagick – Up In The Attic – By Fran Hafey/Mysti

In the house where I grew up, we had a door and behind this door was a set of stairs that led up to the attic. In the attic there was a window that looked out over the roof and the treetops and in the attic I always felt safe.

I would go up there on rainy days and hide out from the world, laying on my back on a blanket and pillow or a pile of clothes taken up until a different season or toys put there out of the way, writing with chalk on the rafters, spelling my name in six year old handwriting.

I could lie there and hear the rain beating on the roof and sometimes I would wake hearing my Mother’s voice calling to me. No one knew how often I would sneak away to the attic where I could read a book or listen to the voices down stairs while I sang a song or talked to my friends that no one else could see, but me. They were always with me, but some days I needed them more to just daydream with and fly away.

I loved being around the “Old” things up there in the attic, the trunk filled with treasures that used to belong to my GranPapa that I don’t remember because he died when I was very young, the old quilts my Granmama made by hand and the old clothes we wore only on Halloween. I always felt surrounded by love and a time when things were simpler. I suppose I felt being upstairs high in the attic protected me from many things, like being in a tall castle where I could see everything down below and feel safe.

My family was all right you see, just they didn’t seem to understand me. I felt different and out of place sometimes and then you would find me out sitting in a tree listening to the birds sing and wishing I too could fly.

Often I would feel I was flying and then I could see the ground far below. I could feel the clouds touch my face and say hello to the birds nearby. I could see the farm across the street, the stream, the pond and the cows too. I loved the feeling of flying and all too soon I would have to come down from up high to wash my hands and help set the table for dinner.

I would spend my summer days outside rolling in the green grass, hunting lightening bugs at night and dancing with the faeries and their animal friends. I was scolded for daydreaming and told I spent too much time out in the woods and maybe I should stay closer to the house. I was told stories of how wolves had eaten a little boy not far down the road and I should be more careful. That snakes and other things lurked around and little girls shouldn’t go roaming too far.

I never knew what fear was until it was taught to me. Oh, the innocence within a child is so big, beautiful and honest, what a shame to destroy it with stories and lies that have been past down for far too long. Should we not all dance and smile and believe anything is possible until we prove its not?

I have now come back to the days of dancing more often and starring at the stars at night more and talking to the trees and hearing the wind whispers all around me. I believe that anything is possible and when we have faith. we see as a child and know that we don’t have to fear anything if we choose not to.

I still like to go up in the attic now and then and let the house know it was me that was up there daydreaming and listening to the rain and talking to my friends that no one else could see and ya know what. they’re still with me today when I walk in the woods and read a good book and need a good cry and call my Mom and Dad to see how they are and tell them I love them, no matter what. and they still live in that house with that great attic with my name in the rafters.

© 2005 Copyright: Mystickblue May 3, 2005 All rights reserved.
See Spiritual Pathways at its webpage at http://Mystickblue.homestead.com/SpiritualPathways.html
Please sign the guestbook, so I know you were there visiting~
About the Author: Fran Hafey is a Spiritual Counselor, Healer, Visionary Writer, Earth and Animal Activist and Teacher, living in the mountains of Virginia with her husband, dogs and birds. She provides guidance, inspiration and love via her Website, groups and newsletter on the World Wide Web. She’s currently working on publishing her own books about love, inspiration, magic and nature stories for Children of all ages.
This article may be freely published so long as the Author’s Bylines, copyright and resource box remain intact. Thank you~

******

motif Silliness SmilieSilliness – Late Night Funny – Today was the first day of New York City pools being opened up…and the first 100 swimmers got a free hepatitis shot. –Dave Letterman

This entry was posted in Daily Stuff, Newsletter, Pagan, Wiccan and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

