Daily Stuff 12-18-15

Hi, folks!

motif yule holiday lightsLighted House Count 578+14

It’s 51F and quiet after the wild weather of the last few days, rather grey because of the overcast, but not the wet gloom that we’ve had. We’re getting a little bit of a break, but the rain will come back and more wind in couple of days. Supposedly there’ve been 3 1/2 inches of rain, but the Wunderground number is just under an inch in town yesterday.

weather wind stormYesterday was weather-crazy again. We didn’t have anyone come into the shop all day and the roof is leaking, so we spent awhile trying to limit damage. Late in the day reports started coming in of landslides and flooded roads and then a sinkhole started up in Newport and a house was coming off of its foundation in Yachats. People were asking for help with sandbags and pumps. Yeah, it got a  bit messy.

Wind Weather MotifTempus and I worked on pulling out and sorting out, when he was there, first boxes and then fabric. When he wasn’t, I worked on a bit of embroidery and did some counseling online.

weather WindyOf course, the power went out. It flickered on and off for a bit and then was out for 25 minutes, including the stoplight. It was on for awhile and then went out again, but just for a few minutes that time. It made it hard to work in back. Apparently a tree went down on some power lines and caught fire and then the power company truck went off the road! Oops! (from Facebook Waldport Community group)

121715 Power co truck ditched.

motif animal cat calicoWell, they did get it all fixed, eventually, but Tempus had his paper route last night and I kept fretting about him as I was hearing about the various problems and the power flickered at home, too. …and then my computer quit and for some reason Tempus is the only one who can get it going again, so I went to bed. He got home before three, but it must have been nasty out there.

This morning, “12 miles up the Alsea – So, we can sit at our fire pit and dip our toes in the river today! Hang on – the rain has stopped and the tide is going out!” Pic from We Pamper Campers on Facebook.

121815 We Pamper Campers Up the Alsea

Today we’ll have the shop open. We don’t have any problems, but I’m concerned about the shop roof.

wise we're different light

wise we’re different light

Orns 01 002

Tempus was putting up a bunch of  these, yesterday. Some have little bells, some other musical instruments.

Today’s Plant is Vanilla Leaf or Sweet-After-Death, Achlys triphylla,  http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Achlys_%28plant%29 . It grows all up and down the West Coast of North America and there’s another species in Japan.plant Vanilla leaf Achlys_triphylla_1033It was used as an insect repellent by the local peoples and has a strong vanilla scent if dried properly. It is used in Crossing the Bridge rituals along with rosemary and often placed in the hands of those who are Crossing or have just Crossed or in spells to ease their way.

Epona 121813The 2nd day of the Saturnalia wasEpona’s feast. Epona is associated with horses, is Gallic in origin and is the only Celtic deity to be worshiped in Rome. More here:  http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Epona and a good article by Caitlin Matthews here: http://caitlin-matthews.blogspot.co.uk/2011/12/eponas-day.html

Mine - Yule PentacleThe shop opens at 11am. Winter hours are 11am-5pm, Thursday through Monday. Please note that the shop will be closed on 12/25 for Christmas and 1/1 for New Years. We will be open on Wednesday 12/23 and Thursday, 12/24 for last-minute shoppers. Need something off hours? Give us a call at 541-563-7154 or Facebook or email at ancientlight@peak.org If we’re supposed to be closed, but it looks like we’re there, try the door. If it’s open, the shop’s open! In case of bad weather, check here at the blog for updates, on our Facebook as Ancient Light, or call the shop.

Love & Light,
Anja

******

Waxing Quarter MoonWaxing Moon Magick The waxing moon is for constructive magick, such as love, wealth, success, courage, friendship, luck or healthy, protection, divination. Any working that needs extra power, such as help finding a new job or healings for serious conditions, can be done now. Also, love, knowledge, legal undertakings, money and dreams. Phase ends at the Tide Change on 12/25 at 3:12am. Waxing Crescent phase – Keywords for the Crescent phase are: expansion, growth, struggle, opportunity. It is the time in a cycle that you gather the wisdom learned in the new phase and communicate your intention to move forward. Light a candle. Write or read an affirmation. LISTEN & ABSORB. Commit to your goal. God/dess aspect: Maiden/Youth, energy and enthusiasm – Associated God/dess: Artemis & Apollo, Mayet/Djehuti, Freya/Frey. Phase ends at the Quarter on 12/18 at 7:14am. Waxing Gibbous Moon From seven to fourteen days after the new moon. For spells that need concentrated work over a ¼ moon cycle this is the best time for constructive workings. Aim to do the last working on the day of the Full moon, before the turn. Keywords for the Gibbous phase are: analyze, prepare, trust. It is the time in a cycle to process the results of the actions taken during the First Quarter. During this phase you are gathering information. Give up making judgments; it will only lead to worry. Your knowledge is incomplete. Laugh. Analyze and filter. LOOK WITHIN. God/dess aspect: Maiden/Youth, but in the uncommitted phase, the Warriors – Associated God/desses: Dion, Dionysius, Venus, Thor. Phase ends with Full on 12/23 at 3:12pm. 

Waxing Quarter MoonFriday, Dec. 18, 10:14 a.m. EST – First Quarter Moon – The First Quarter Moon rises around 12:30 p.m. and sets around 1 a.m. It dominates the evening sky. • First-quarter Moon (exact at 10:14 a.m. EST). This evening the Moon shines more or less under the eastern (left) side of the Great Square of Pegasus. Can you see the Moon moving with respect to this line as the hours go by?
120615 Comet CatalinaComet Catalina (C/2013 US10) is running about a magnitude fainter than predicted, now that it has emerged into view low in the east at dawn. It’s likely to stay at 6th magnitude as it climbs high into the predawn eastern sky through December and January. This week it’s near Venus. See the December Sky & Telescope, page 45, or our article Get a Predawn Peek of Comet Catalina. Both provide finder charts.
Astro venusAstro marsAstro jupiterVenus, Mars, and Jupiter form an ever-lengthening diagonal line in early dawn, running upward from southeast to south. Low Venus and high Jupiter are now separated by about 50°. Fainter Mars is between them, closer to Venus. A little below Mars is Spica. Venus shines at magnitude –4.2. Jupiter is –2.0, Mars is +1.4, and Spica is +1.0.

Goddess Month of Astrea runs from 11/28 – 12/25
Celtic Tree Month of Ruis/Elder  Nov 25 – Dec 22
Celtic Tree Month of Beth/Birch, Dec 24 – Jan 20, Beith – (BEH), birch 

Rune Runic Month 24 Jara JeraRunic half-month of Jera/ Jara 12/13-12/27 – Jara signifies the completion of natural cycles, such as fruition, and has a more transcendent meaning of mystic marriage of Earth and Cosmos. *Ø* Wilson’s Almanac free daily ezine | Book of Days | December 13

Sun in SagittariusSun in Sagittarius
Moon in PiscesWaxing Quarter at 7:14am
Moon in Pisces enters Aries at 1:26pm
Color: Purple

Planting 12/17-18

*****

©2015 M. Bartlett, Some parts separately copyright.

******

elderberry flower RuisRuis  Elder  Nov 25 – Dec 22 – Ruis – (RWEESH), elder – Celtic tree month of Ruis (Elder) commences (Nov 25 – Dec 22) – Like other Iron Age Europeans, the Celts were a polytheistic people prior to their conversion to (Celtic) Christianity. The Celts divided the year into 13 lunar cycles (months or moons). These were linked to specific sacred trees which gave each moon its name. Today commences the Celtic tree month of Elder.
Elder or Elderberry (Sambucus) is a genus of fast-growing shrubs or small trees in the family Caprifoliaceae. They bear bunches of small white or cream coloured flowers in the Spring, that are followed by bunches of small red, bluish or black berries. The berries are a very valuable food resource for many birds.
Common North American species include American Elder, Sambucus canadensis, in the east, and Blueberry Elder, Sambucus glauca, in the west; both have blue-black berries.
The common European species is the Common or Black Elder, Sambucus nigra, with black berries.
plant red elderberry RuisThe common elder (Sambucus nigra L.) is a shrub growing to 10 m (33 feet) in damp clearings, along the edge of woods, and especially near habitations. Elders are grown for their blackish berries, which are used for preserves and wine. The leaf scars have the shape of a crescent moon. Elder branches have a broad spongy pith in their centers, much like the marrow of long bones, and an elder branch stripped of its bark is very bone-like. The red elder (S. racemosa L.) is a similar plant at higher elevations; it grows to 5 m (15 feet). Red elder extends its native range to northern North America, and it is cultivated along with other native species, but common elders are seldom seen in cultivation. Elders are in the Honeysuckle family (Caprifoliaceae).
plant motif Elderberry RuisRuis – Elder Ogam letter correspondences
Month: Makeup days of the thirteenth Moon
Color: Red
Class: Shrub
Letter: R
Meaning: End of a cycle or problem.
elder month Husband_and_wife_trees - Blackthorn Ruisto study this month Straif – Blackthorn Ogam letter correspondences
Month: None
Color: Purple
Class: Chieftain
Letter: SS, Z, ST
Meaning: Resentment; Confusion; Refusing to see the truth

******

Waves tide

*

Tides for Alsea Bay
Day        High      Tide  Height   Sunrise    Moon  Time      % Moon
~           /Low      Time    Feet    Sunset                                    Visible
F   18     High   5:47 AM     7.7   7:48 AM    Rise 12:29 PM      41
~    18      Low  12:08 PM     2.4   4:38 PM
~    18     High   5:43 PM     6.3

******

Affirmation/Thought for the Day – Great Spirit sees and hears everything, and she never forgets.

******

Newsletter Journal PromptJournal Prompt – Would you? – Would you rather be rich and famous or just rich? Why?

******

Quotes 

~  Lost, yesterday, somewhere between sunrise and sunset, two golden hours, each set with sixty diamond minutes. No reward is offered, for they are gone forever. – Horace Mann (1796-1859)
~  Permanent success cannot be achieved except by incessant intellectual labor, always inspired by the ideal. – Sarah Bernhardt, French actor
~  We think too small, like the frog at the bottom of the well.  He thinks the sky is only as big as the top of the well.  If he surfaced, he would have an entirely different view. – Mao Tse-tung, Chinese leader
~  I try to avoid looking forward or backward, and try to keep looking upward. – Charlotte Bronte

COUSIN BANYA, THE SERPENT QUEEN

Banya, the Serpent Queen,
Came slithering through my door;
I locked it when I saw her coming, but
She picked the lock with her forked tongue.

If she wasn’t my cousin,
She probably wouldn’t visit at all.
It was bad enough that she had snakes
All over her head, but her roots were showing
From a bad bleach job…I guess she had to
Do it herself, (I sure wouldn’t want to)!

Banya is what they call a Lamia (kinda rhymes,
Doesn’t it)?  She was a snake from waist down,
And could slither with her bottom half…
And pretty fast, too!

Unfortunately, her lair was not too far from
My house.  And she had a good sense of smell,
So she could tell if I was at home.
I had just gotten a new boyfriend, and I really
Dreaded it if he should run into Cousin Banya.

Alfred was really kinda conservative anyway,
And the thought of future kinship with a Lamia
Would really put a crimp in our relationship.
He was just at the point of ‘popping the question’,
Too.

I pulled up a bucket chair that Banya could fit into,
And fixed her a cup of tea with honey and milk.
I had some poppyseed muffins on hand, too.
I knew she probably had other appetites, but
I really didn’t want to know…it might be frogs,
Or something worse.

After we ate, she slithered into the den to watch tv;
She was especially fond of soap operas.
She picked up the picture of Alfred, he looked
So cute, with his bow tie, glasses and pipe;
Exactly like an accountant should look.

Banya rolled her eyes and looked slightly
Nauseous, which was very very rude.  I was
Offended.  After all, I never commented on her
Boyfriends.  Heck, I usually only ever saw them
Once.  I never asked her why that was, either…
I didn’t want to know.

Banya could hypnotize men with her eyes…
Once they got up to her eyes, that is;
She didn’t wear anything above the waist.
I hope she would leave before Alfred came to
Pick me up for our date; otherwise I would have to
Hide her.

I kept hinting for Banya to leave, but as usual
Hints didn’t do any good where she was concerned,
And I was scared to make her mad, you bet!
She was painting her claws…oops, nails with black
Polish,

When I heard a knock at the door.  Oh, Lord!
That had to be Alfred; it was a very conservative knock.
I rushed Banya into my bedroom and the tv there,
And told her to stay in there quietly and totally,
If she wanted me to let her search for mice in the cellar.

So I smoothed my hair and tried to stop shaking,
And then I opened the door for my gentle Alfred.
He had just gotten home from an Accounting Convention
In Chicago, and was very glad to see me.

I told him I would just get my coat, and we could go,
But he said he just wanted to spend a quiet evening
At home with me.  Yikes!  And he plopped himself down
Into a chair and wouldn’t move.  Damn.

I told him all I had to eat were sandwich fixings and soda,
But he said that was fine with him, we could go out later
For dessert.  I put on the coffee pot, but my hands were
Shaking so badly that I almost dropped it.

Things were pretty quiet in the kitchen, and then
We heard a thump, thump, thump, and Ssssssssss,
Sssssssss, and I knew Banya was on the move.
Oh, Lordy!  I didn’t know if I would live through this night,
Or not; it sounded to me like she was heading for the stairs.

Thank God Alfred had his back to the stairs!  I saw Banya
Stick her head around the corner to peek.  She wanted to
See my new boyfriend, but I sure didn’t want him to see Her!
She laughed at me, and stuck our her forked tongue.
Sssssssssss, Ssssssssss!  She was laughing at me.

I told Alfred that was the radiator making that noise.  I hoped
He wouldn’t use his brain to realize I had central heat.
I jumped up and grabbed my coat, pulled him out of the chair,
And headed for the door.  “Hellooooooo,” Banya said sweetly.

I almost fainted.  Then I looked up and wished I HAD fainted.
Banya had wrapped her snaky hair in a towel for a turban,
And put on a long skirt over her green snaky tail.
It looked awful, but poor Alfred was an innocent, he might not
Figure out she was a creature-type thingie.

“I’m Laurie’s cousin Banya,” she hissed, “first cousins on her
Mother’s side.”  She held out her hand, and of course
He had to get closer to shake it.  I was glaring at her,
But as usual it did not do any good.   She looked at him
With her hypnotic eyes, and he did not notice anything
Unusual at all.  I guess she does have her talents.

“You two go out and have a good time,” she said, “I just
Wanted to see what he looked like.  Not very impressive.”
She slithered back upstairs, as I marched Alfred out of the
Door, (and out to eat, if my stomach would stop clenching).

Well, at least Banya and my Alfred had met each other.
I calmed down and everything was going fine, until
Alfred said how pleasant Banya was, and wouldn’t
She make a lovely bridesmaid at our wedding?
I spewed coffee all over our tablecloth and started choking,
At that one!

I am really giving serious thought to the advisability of marrying
A conservative man, what with my family trees.  He hadn’t
Even met Banya’s parents (God forbid), not to mention
The rest of my family, who have lairs all over the place, most
Of them not too far from my house…..

Oh, well.  Visits from Cousin Banya are never dull,
But I love her anyway! © Copyright 10/05/05. Beth Johnson (Mystic Amazon)

******

Yule Log 122413Yule Magick – Crafts

Making Luminarias – School for the Seasons

Every year I host a Winter Solstice party and every year I like to send my guests home with some small hand-made gift. Last year, I found the perfect gift item in an issue of Martha Stewart’s Living: luminarias made from tin cans. Although Martha featured this craft project in summer, I thought it was the perfect gift for Winter Solstice, with its symbolism of the returning light. It also resonated with the personal image I had been working with all year: of letting my light shine, instead of hiding it.

The great secret to making these little lanterns is simple. Fill empty tin cans with water and put them in the freezer until the water is frozen. Then you can use a hammer and nail to make designs in the sides. After making enough lanterns for all 40 guests at my party, I learned some handy tips.

The best cans to use are condensed milk cans. [anja note, or canned mushroom cans] They are the only cans I found in a year of collecting that don’t have corrugated sides. Although the corrugated sides aren’t noticeable when the lantern is in use, they aren’t as attractive when the lights are on since the corrugations obscure the design.

To make the designs, brace the tin can against a towel, set the point of the nail where you want the hole to appear, and hammer away. The ice tends to chip away from the rim so begin at the top and work your way down. But don’t go too far. The biggest design flaw of my lanterns is that the wax leaks out of the bottom holes as the candle burns down. I invited friends over to help me make the lanterns and I enjoyed watching them come up with creative designs. I started out with fairly repetitive patterns, like crosses, stars, flowers (one dot in the center surrounded by 5 other dots) and borders of staggered dots. But you can also make sun symbols (a circle around a dot), wave patterns, diagonal lines, vertical lines of varying lengths, or simply scatter random dots across the surface, like stars in space. I suppose you could write your name or the name of a friend. You can use a screwdriver and other wood-working tools to make more complicated patterns than simple nail holes, especially if you are using large cans. But be careful. The heavier force of the screwdriver crumpled the sides of the flimsy tin cans I was using.

Also be careful when inserting candles into the lanterns. The inside edges are very sharp. For the same reason, I would be cautious about giving these to small children. I own a beautiful decorative tin lantern made in Mexico. It is made from a sheet of tin which was pierced, while lying flat, then bent into a circle and fitted onto a base. In this version, the sharp edges are all on the outside, making it easier to insert and light a candle.

My house was beautiful last Winter Solstice, glowing with these little tin lanterns. There were many left, after the guests departed with the lanterns they chose, and they’ve been put to good use all year long. I light one on my desk when I’m doing my writing, to indicate my recognition of the sacred nature of my work. A few found a place on the bathroom counter and are lit for candlelight baths. A few more garnish the piano, and ornament my altar. I know there are more packed away in the Christmas box. I look forward to setting them out and seeing how the house is transformed by the flickering light, like the sparkle of hundreds of stars, of my Winter Solstice luminarias.

 

[Another Anja note – You can use tea lights in these and avoid the wax leak problem and you can also use glass votive holders]

Driftwood Santas

Items needed:

  • pieces of driftwood that approximate the shape of santa – can be carrying a bag, tree, etc
  • acrylic paint
  • acrylic sealer
  • paintbrushes

Directions:

  1. Using your mind’s eye, determine where Santa’s head, body, etc are
  2. Paint using the acrylic paints, working with the curves of the wood to determine what is what
  3. Seal with sealer after paint has dried

Yule Tree – (For Yule) – http://members.aol.com/ivycleartoes/yuletree.html

Materials:

Tree of the traditional seasonal type

Decorative materials: Popcorn strings, tinsel, wooden stars, ornaments of any sort, fake snowflakes . . . use your imagination!

Directions:

Simply decorate the tree however you desire. One fun activity is using popcorn strings, which can be created by stringing them together with a needle and thread. (Make sure you get unsalted, unbuttered popcorn!) Little brooms, apples, or stars, and any other symbols of Yule you like, can be placed at strategic intervals all over the greenery.

Ritual use:

Candles or lights can be added to the tree and solemnly lit at a family or solitary ceremony. Gifts can be stored under the tree and joyously given on Yule.

******

motif Silliness SmilieSilliness – Still More Words from Women

I base most of my fashion taste on what doesn’t itch. – Gilda Radner
Behind every successful man is a surprised woman. – Maryon Pearson
Our struggle today is not to have a female Einstein get appointed as an assistant professor. It is for a woman schlemiel to get as quickly promoted as a male schlemiel. – Bella Abzug
In politics, if you want anything said, ask a man; if you want anything done, ask a woman. – Margaret Thatcher
I have yet to hear a man ask for advice on how to combine marriage and a career. – Gloria Steinem
Some of us are becoming the men we wanted to marry. – Gloria Steinem
If men can run the world, why can’t they stop wearing neckties? How intelligent is it to start the day by tying a little noose around your neck? – Linda Ellerbee
I am a marvelous housekeeper. Every time I leave a man I keep his house. – Zsa Zsa Gabor
I never married because there was no need. I have three pets at home which answer the same purpose as a husband. I have a dog which growls every morning, a parrot which swears all afternoon and a cat that comes home late at night. – Marie Corelli
I think–therefore I’m single. – Lizz Winstead
Sometimes I wonder if men and women really suit each other. Perhaps they should live next door and just visit now and then. – Katharine Hepburn

This entry was posted in Daily Stuff, Newsletter, Pagan, Wiccan and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

