Daily Stuff 5-14-17 Jamestowne

Hi, folks!

Minus Tide at 9:42 AM of -0.4 feet. Featured photo by Ken Gagne. House Capuchin Project Day from 12-6pm.

We only got 1/5 of an inch yesterday, but it felt like more because of the way it came down occasionally. There’s a photo from Tigard where hail looked like snow on the highway! It looks like we’re done with rain until late tomorrow afternoon, though. We’re wearing out the rainy season. 🙂 56F and the wind is light.

Yesterday was a real scramble early on and we didn’t have any shoppers before 10am, just one guy who wanted to talk. Fascinating guy, though. We had everything out front by 10 and the weather started to sort out. …and then rained…and then sun…and then rain. <shrug> What can I say, it’s the Coast!

We weren’t nearly as busy as we’d hoped. Slow for a Saturday. Tempus worked in back for awhile while I was tending customers and then I sat down to some sewing, later. …and as far as sales went, it was pretty much a bust…. <sigh>

Leslie came in late in the afternoon and we had a good chat. I also made an awesome Chinese-style soup that was really easy. (recipe below) We had some meat to get cut up and frozen, too and I set up a stroganoff to cook overnight.

We’re here and open this morning and one of our boys just called to tell me Happy Mother’s Day and he’s getting married this summer! Another one has sent me a message and I found my book on the coil embroidery and a garlic peeler and an awesome card on my desk, so I’m having a good day.

Tempus is busy with pulling apart the extra tables and such from the garage sale and I’m trying to get this out, then I’ll put stuff away, then go make the gravy for the stroganoff and then get back to the book inventory. …and the stroganoff smells fantastic!

A Ken Gagne from 5/11/17 of the Kroemer Pond. Look at those reflections!

240px-Delphinium_trolliifolium_3633The local larkspurs, delphinium trollifolium, and delphinium pavonaceum (which the Wiki article says is confined to the Valley, but I’ve collected out here….) are pretty flowers in shade of white, blue and purple. They’re called delphiniums after the shape of the nectary. More here:  http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Delphinium_trolliifolium and here:  http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Delphinium_pavonaceum 220px-Delphinium_pavonaceum Other names are Larksheal and Staggerweed – Feminine, Venus, Water – The flowers frighten away venomous creatures and ghosts. Sprinkle between your eyes and a Litha fire to keep your sight clear. Use in rituals to call upon Dolphin energy.

feast 0514 JamestownzunigaToday is the anniversary of the founding of Fort James, which became Jamestowne, capitol of the Colony of Virginia until 1699. Briefly abandoned due to lack of supplies, the resupply brought women and more colonists which made the place a going concern for a long while. Initially, relations with the locals were good, but a bad diplomat as head of the colony caused the “starving time” when the colony was vacant and then later strong-arm tactics, trying to bully supplies out of the locals, set off one of the first wars with the Native Americans.  http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jamestown,_Virginia

The shop is open Thursday through Monday, although we’re there a lot later most nights. Need something off hours? Give us a call at 541-563-7154 or Facebook or email at ancientlight@peak.org If we’re supposed to be closed, but it looks like we’re there, try the door. If it’s open, the shop’s open! In case of bad weather, check here at the blog for updates, on our Facebook as Ancient Light, or call the shop.

Love & Light,
Anja

******

Today’s Astro & Calendar

Waning Moon Magick – From the Full Moon to the New is a time for study, meditation, and magic designed to banish harmful energies and habits, for ridding oneself of addictions, illness or negativity. Remember: what goes up must come down. Phase ends at the Tide Change on 5/25 at 12:4pm. Waning Gibbous Moon Best time for draining the energy behind illness, habits or addictions. Magicks of this sort, started now, should be ended before the phase change to the New Moon. – Associated God/dess: Hera/Hero, Cybele, Zeus the Conqueror, Mars/Martius, Anansi, Prometheus. Phase ends at the Quarter on 5/18 at 5:33pm. 

As twilight begins to fade, look very low in the west-southwest. Can you can still pick up Sirius, twinkling hard? The farther north you are, the harder it will be. Binoculars help. When is the final date you’ll see Sirius at all?
Venus (magnitude –4.6) shines low in the east as dawn brightens. In a telescope it’s a thick crescent.

Goddess Month of Maia runs from 4/18 – 5/15
Goddess Month of Hera runs from 5/16 – 6/12
Celtic Tree Month of Huath/Hawthorn, May 13 – Jun 9 
Runic half-month of Inguz/Ing, 5/14-5/28 – Male consort of Nerthus, the Earth Mother, Ing is god of the hearth. This time of year expresses potential for abundant growth. Nigel Pennick, The Pagan Book of Days, Destiny Books, Rochester, Vermont, USA, 1992, p. 70.

Sun in Taurus
Moon in Capricorn
Jupiter (6/9), Saturn (8/25), Juno (8/26), Pluto (9/28) Retrograde
Color: Orange

Planting 5/14-16

******

©2017 M. Bartlett, Some parts separately copyright

******

Celtic Tree Month of Huath/Hawthorn, May 13 – Jun 9 – I am fair among flowers – Color: Purple – Class: Peasant – Letter: H – Meaning: Being held back for a period of time – Hawthorn – Like willows, hawthorns have many species in Europe, and they are not always easy to tell apart. All are thorny shrubs in the Rose family (Rosaceae), and most have whitish or pinkish flowers. The common hawthorn (Crataegus monogyna Jacq.) and midland hawthorn (Crataegus laevigata (Poiret) DC.) are both widespread. They are common in abandoned fields and along the edges of forests. Both are cultivated in North America, as are several native and Asiatic hawthorns. Curtis Clark

Huathe – Hawthorne Ogam letter correspondences
Month: April
Color: Purple
Class: Peasant
Letter: H
Meaning: Being held back for a period of time

to study this month – Ur – Heather and Mistletoe Ogam letter correspondences
Month: None
Color: Purple
Class: Heather is Peasant; Mistletoe is Chieftain
Letter: U
Meaning: Healing and development on the spiritual level.

******

Waves tide

Tides for Alsea Bay
*

Day        High      Tide  Height   Sunrise    Moon  Time      % Moon
~            /Low      Time    Feet    Sunset                                     Visible
Su  14     High   2:41 AM     7.3   5:49 AM     Set  8:46 AM      92
~    14      Low   9:42 AM    -0.4   8:36 PM    Rise 11:57 PM
~    14     High   4:17 PM     6.1
~    14      Low   9:38 PM     3.0

******

Affirmation/Thought for the Day – If you don’t love me by now, you never will. I am who I am.

******

Newsletter Journal PromptJournal Prompt – What is? – What is the earliest memory you have of a sibling?

******

Quotes  

~  The secret of a man who is universally interesting is that he is universally interested. – William Dean Howells
~  The true secret to life and all it holds is within you. – David Preston
~  The Universe is holding its breath … Waiting for you to take your place. – Jean Houston
~  There is no such thing as nothing. – Martin Heidegger

Serene will be our days and bright,
And happy will our nature be,
When love is an unerring light,
And joy its own security.–William Wordsworth (1770–1850)

******

Magick – JUST FOR TODAY: I will live through this day only. I will not brood about yesterday or obsess about tomorrow. I will not set far-reaching goals or try to overcome all of my problems at once.

I know that I can do something for 24 hours that would overwhelm me if I had to keep it up for a lifetime.

JUST FOR TODAY: I will be happy. I will not dwell on thoughts that depress me. If my mind fills with clouds, I will chase them away and fill it with sunshine.

JUST FOR TODAY: I will accept what is. I will face reality. I will correct those things that I can correct and accept those I cannot.

JUST FOR TODAY: I will improve my mind. I will read something that requires effort, thought and concentration. I will not be a mental loafer.

JUST FOR TODAY: I will make a conscious effort to be agreeable. I will be kind and courteous to those who cross my path, and I’ll not speak ill of others. I will improve my appearance, speak softly, and not interrupt when someone else is talking.

JUST FOR TODAY: I will refrain from improving anybody but myself.

JUST FOR TODAY: I will do something positive to improve my health. If I’m a smoker, I’ll quit. If I am overweight, I will eat healthfully — if only just for today. And not only that, I will get off the couch and take a brisk walk, even if it’s only around the block.

JUST FOR TODAY: I will gather the courage to do what is right and take responsibility for my own actions.

Chinese style soup – This one was seriously easy….

1 small bulb garlic, sliced
1” ginger root, sliced
32 oz box chicken broth

Bring to a boil

Crack two duck eggs in, re-boil for 6 minutes

Add bundle udon
2 stalks bok choy, rolled and sliced crossways

Cook for 6 minutes more.

2 generous servings.

******

motif Silliness SmilieSilliness – Light Bulbs – Q: How many Scorpios does it take to change a light bulb?
A: None.  They LIKE the dark.

This entry was posted in Daily Stuff, Newsletter, Pagan, Wiccan and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

